BREAKING: South Africa adds Nigeria to its visa-free countries days after adding Ghana

South Africa Department of Home Affairs (DHA) has announced Nigeria as the latest addition to it’s visa free countries.

The DHA omitted Nigeria when it added Ghana and seven other countries to its visa-free countries.

The sector minister initially said the staff at the South Africa High Commission in Nigeria would be doubled to ensure swift processing of visas for Nigerians but the DHA says it has “rescinded its decision after broad consultations and holders and Nigerian passports can now enter South Africa without visas”.

According to the Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, citizens of Nigeria, Ghana and the seven other countries are able to enter South Africa without a visa.


“Tourism will soar if we relax visa requirements for entry into South Africa. We know that Tourism is very important for job creation,” he said today at a briefing in South Africa.

“Out of the 193 countries who are member states of the United Nations, the Department has granted visa-free status to 75 countries. Of these 16 are in our continent and are SADC members and 59 are from all over the world.”

Mr Motsoaledi said that his office will immediately enter into discussions with the respective countries about how a visa-free regime will work.